I don’t know how to say it!

I don’t even know how to start this. I want to explain without giving too much detail. But this subject is so complicated, I’m not sure how I’m going to do that.

At the beginning of this year, something happened that threw my immediate family for a loop. Someone in my family, ended up going threw a divorce. They had been together for 10 years, and married for 7 with one child. We all thought they would end up back together but by the time my family member decided to try to make it work, the spouse had checked out. Anyways, so since then, we have heard about them & said family members life drama. From dealing with ex spouse, to dating, to dealing with depression, etc. At some point in every conversation this has come up, EVERYDAY, for the past almost year. You guys, I’m not exaggerating. If you knew some of my family members you would understand.

So my dilemma is, I hate negativity. I hate drama. How in the heck do I tell someone I love that I’m tired of hearing about it/hearing people talk about it. When someone comes to me for advice on how to handle my family member, on what to say to put them into check, and I have a different opinion, I turn out to be the bad guy because I don’t feel sorry for them. I just can not deal anymore. I have my own life, I don’t need to hear about or let someone else’s life affect me! It has nothing to do with me or my little family so why would I let it upset me. Why should I be bitter? Why should you be bitter or them for that matter? It’s been a year, pick yourself, take care of yourself, and move on. Don’t be bitter, one because it’s not good for your child or your health. Do for yourself & quit leaning on everyone else to do for you.

Also, stop babying them. After 32 years, they should know what to do…FOR THEMSELVES! You are part of the problem. You are enabling them from becoming better! So stop.

If I was to say these things no one would talk to me ever again. EVER. I promise, y’all. So I’m stuck. I don’t know what to do or how to deal with it.

Maybe I sound heartless, but if course I can only share so much. I sure if you knew everything, you would feel the same. How do I gently tell someone just to not talk about it around me? Or should I just get up & leave the conversation, everytime it happens?

On a better note… go to my next post!

-M

Leave a Reply

